top of page

BE WELL

Can you pinch me?

Yup it almost seems to be a bit of a terrible dream, this day I speak of!


As I started the morning I knew it would be busy. I did not realize how absolutely wild the day would actually be.

My work is so varied and that is why I love it!

A social worker in an office where primarily we assist with the benefits from the government. There is so much more to the day to day that people just do not see.


Any given day I can be attempting to house people, in market or supported living. I can be arranging medical appointments and or pharmacy Carrie's etc. negotiations with utility companies and other bills. Managing one's addiction based on my own experience all while trying to have the client play a part in their informal safety plan. This occurs as they choose how to best spend their money and accumulate their drug of choice and maybe food once and a while.


Fact, it all happened today!


There is a new drug on the street or a combination of a few drugs making it a super powerhouse out there. The death toll has been huge this past month. It's also making the humans act inhuman.

Jitters

Shakes

Chattering Jaw

Spacey cognitive

Dry mouth

And the inability to truly focus!


We had one of our people have a serious seizure today. He hit the ground rapidly with a clamping of his tongue. Was the first time I've ever been sprayed with blood.

Another person was so jittery they took their clothes off at the front entrance and urinated on the door.

A fellow awoke from yet another coma and found himself lost on the street again; only to make his way to see me and barely keep his strength up. His demeanor was lacking the spirit which is he. It appears he is giving up- and YES by choice. The hollowness that is so visual through him evidently swallows the soul that he try's to shine. He waited as long as he could stomach for "CRISIS" to come "HELP" he left to wander...


I've been watching some people dig deeper into their bottoms more than ive ever witnessed before. In disgust they feel the sadness that oozes out of them. They express they don't want this, but cannot help this! Duet of Melodie's play as I watch them hand in hand carry on, over and over. Each composition changes day by day.


Their memories fade as they intertwine time.

Some call it biding for time before they finally die! Some believe this is a continued suicide watch party. While some declare this ultimate cries for help without want.


Tears. I have them and I have them right now. I beg clients to please stop torturing themselves. I encourage the change they can do and praise their accomplishments no matter the quality! Be Well has never meant so much to me before: but when I say this to the people I truly mean for them to BE WELL.


I or we never know when we will see the client again. Sometimes we fear we've seen them for the last time. A call of sadness follows as the community's gather in support of the loss or missing.


Is it new that they are lost?

Or is it that we've only just noticed!

Cause, well they've been lost the whole time....


Taking some serious time with an additional anti psychotic tonight.

If you practice as I do. If you've been down this road as I've been, please leave me some comments on how you SELF CARE!!


Thank you for reading and have a splendid evening friends!


Sabastian

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

QUIET

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page