top of page

Eye of the Ear


Self centered and righteous I could be most of times. Forgive me as I did live a life I chose to create and flourish in the anarchy in which it became that I cared very little of others feelings. Until I somehow noticed my behaviour. Close your mouth and open your ears, was something I was taught in the rooms of recovery. Spoken by the friends I made in recovery, four of whom I truly cherish every though I do not see them often the Oscar-Balls mean the world to me!

Treat each person who chooses to spend time with you well! Be present, be engaged and be active in the exchange. Take the time without interruption and hear what they’re saying even if the words are not telling the tale. People will tell tales without verbally saying so, it’ll be through emotion eye movement facial expressions and hand gestures. The non verbal cues are more engaging than the story at times. also simply listen to the other person and dont interject YOUR opinion, advice or compare stories! Chosen time with others is not a competition and YOU are not a god and so YOU do not have all brilliance!

Was I a better listener now than before? Yes I believe so. I’ve learned to let people talk and have their moments a LOT. I learn more from others every day and notice how I got into their worlds. After listening with the eye did I learn how to interact.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

QUIET

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page