top of page

Vulnerability

To remember is a gift. Never forgetting isn’t that hard, and when the flash image comes to my mind via a client in the now- I take notice!

I got to see a client coming down from her drug of choice. I recall shaking uncontrollably, seizing, vomiting and the general loss of all motor functions. #neverforget

I brought this up with some colleagues and what is quite interesting to me is that not all of us in this field have the backbone of lived experience. What I do like though is the vulnerability of the worker willing to dive into whatever is happening for this client or that client is what moves me.

I talked with this girl today and I said wow you were really sick. Not to shame, but to remind her she is cared for and oh wow oh wow let’s not get back to that sickness. Can we? Shall we?

If you’re reading this and you’ve not experienced the struggle with addiction please take away the idea that people are quite literally sick. I’m not saying pity them I’m saying offer some community support or offering as to where to get that support. Giving money is only enabling in areas.

If you have experienced addiction and the roller coaster that comes with it and don’t wish to share it or change at this point THAT IS OK ✅ educate yourself and take care please take care while being careful.

If you’ve been and somehow survived never forget.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

QUIET

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page